Orpheus Chamber Orchestra - Igor Stravinsky Shadow Dances (2000)

Orpheus Chamber Orchestra - Igor Stravinsky Shadow Dances (2000)
Artist: Orpheus Chamber Orchestra
Title: Igor Stravinsky: Shadow Dances
Year Of Release: 2000
Label: Deutsche Grammophon
Genre: Classical, Neo-Classical, Modern
Quality: FLAC (image+cue)
Total Time: 01:06:38
Total Size: 252 Mb


01. Tango, for chamber orchestra

Suite No. 1, for chamber orchestra
02. No. 1, Andante
03. No. 2, Napolitana
04. No. 3, Espanola
05. No. 4, Balalaika

Suite No. 2, for chamber orchestra
06. No. 1, March
07. No. 2, Waltz
08. No. 3, Polka
09. No. 4, Galop

Concerto in D, for string orchestra in D major ("Basel Concerto")
10. Vivace
11. Arioso. Andantino
12. Rondo. Allegro
13. Concertino, for 12 instruments

Octet for wind instruments
14. No. 1, Sinfonia
15. No. 2, Tema con variationi
16. No. 3, Finale

Pieces (3) for string quartet
17. No. 1
18. No. 2
19. No. 3

20. Preludium, for jazz band
21. Ragtime, for 11 instruments
22. Lied onhe Namen, duet for 2 bassoons
23. Fanfare for a New Theater, for 2 trumpets
24. Scherzo a la Russe, for orchestra

This collection conveniently brings together many of Stravinsky's short pieces, which are occasionally found as filler on other discs or not at all. Count it as a considerable bonus that these often misplaced miniatures receive lively interpretations here, by one of the world's best chamber ensembles. These compositions are valuable for the insights they give of Stravinsky's varied stylistic developments. His neo-Classical period is well-represented. However, some earlier experiments are included, namely the Pieces (3) for string quartet and the Suites (2), in which the composer struggled to find new directions. The Fanfare for a New Theatre, coming late in Stravinsky's career, is the slightest of the selections, but interesting for being his last work associated with ballet. The Orpheus Chamber Orchestra adjusts well to the changing styles and approaches each piece with the right balance of seriousness and mischief. Especially engaging are the Tango, the Octet, and the Ragtime for 11 instruments, where the musicians are allowed a bit more room to stretch out. The closing track, Scherzo a la Russe, reminiscent of the "Shrove-tide Fair" in Petrushka, receives the most boisterous performance. The recorded sound is excellent, capturing all the subtle timbral nuances that make this music ingratiating.--Blair Sanderson

Buy Premium From My Links To Get Resumable Support,Max Speed & Support Me

Alternate Link for Orpheus Chamber Orchestra - Igor Stravinsky Shadow Dances (2000).rar When above links are dead

Hello Respective Visitor!

Please Login or Create a FREE Account to gain accesss to hidden contents.


Would you like to leave your comment? Please Login to your account to leave comments. Don't have an account? You can create a free account now.